Blanche d'Alpuget


Blanche d'Alpuget is the author of eleven books, including eight novels - Monkeys in the Dark (1980), Turtle Beach (1981), Winter in Jerusalem (1986) White Eye (1993), The Young Lion (2013) and The Lion Rampant (2014). These works won a number of literary prizes including the PEN Golden Jubilee Award, The Age Novel of the Year Award, the South Australian Premier's Award and the Australasian Prize for Commonwealth Literature. D'Alpuget's Mediator: A Biography of Sir Richard Kirby was published in 1977 to critical acclaim. Robert J. Hawke: A Biography (1982) was both a national bestseller and the winner of several awards. After a long break, d'Alpuget returned to writing with a short work, On Longing, released in 2008.

The Young Lion is the first in a quartet subtitled “The Birth of the Plantagenets”. It was judged as “one of the most desirable books of 2013”. The second book in the series, The Lion Rampant (2014), published to critical acclaim. Thomas Keneally wrote, "This is fresh and invigorating and absolutely gripping. The revision she provides of the motives and character of Thomas Becket will rivet readers as they have not been riveted since Hilary Mantel's Thomas Cromwell." 

Blanche has served on the boards of the ACT Arts Advisory Council, the Copyright Agency Ltd, the Australian Film Commission and has been the Chair of the Australian Society of Authors. As Austcare Goodwill Ambassador between 1992 and 1996 she wrote of the plight of refugees from Indochina, the former Yugoslavia and Afghanistan. She is a Patron of the Australia China Friendship Society in NSW and the Patron of Inala, a Rudolf Steiner organisation catering for people with severe disabilities. She lives in Sydney with her husband and son.

All Blanche's novels are in print and e-books. Her biography of Hawke is now published as two books. They are Hawke: the Early Years and Hawke, the Prime Minister.

For enquiries about Blanche d'Alpuget's publication, audio, film and TV rights please contact Jeanne Ryckmans: